Princeton Driving School does
not return the permit to your teen after completion
of lessons. Instead, we must return the permit to the
Division of Motor Vehicles for a validation sticker.
This sticker indicates the beginning of a minimum six-month
supervised driving practice period. Additionaly, a road-test
appointment will be scheduled on either your teen's
17th birthday or the end of the six-month practice period
whichever is longer. This date will be written on the
permit. Then, we will mail the permit to you.
'Once the permit has been received
your teen is now permitted to practice drive with a
New Jersey licensed driver over 21 years of age with
a minimum of 3 years driving experience. Your teen may
drive in the state of New Jersey only between the hours
of 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. Your teen will receive a course
completion certificate to present to your insurance
company for a teen driver discount.++
*If your teen is learning at a below-average pace, he
or she may not be ready to learn highway and lane-changing
skills. We welcome calls from parents to discuss progress.
+Lessons are given at night and in inclement weather.
If a lesson is scheduled at such a time, your teen will
be taught how to minimize risks.
++Most insurance companies require completion of a 30-hour
classroom course conducted only in New Jersey high schools
in addition to the 6 hours behind-the-wheel instruction.
Call Princeton Driving School today to answer your
questions about the new GDL law. Let us teach your teen
to meet the challenges of driving in todays traffic
Please remember us when your teen is ready to take
the on-the-road test at DMV for a provisional license
to drive alone with restrictions. We offer review lessons
and our car to use on the test. Check the New Jersey
Driver's Manual to make sure your car* is acceptable
to take the test in.
*Cars with a console
between the seats or without a parking brake in the
middle also are disqualified for use on the test. The
DMV examiner must be able to stop the car in an emergency
by using the middle hand brake or reaching over without
obstruction to the actual brake pedal.
the Argument, and Use a Professional!
more information about our teen program, simply
email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
parent-child experiences lead to bonding and pleasant memories;
teaching your child to drive is not one of them!
We have more than 30 years of experience in helping new drivers
learn the skills they need to be competent and confident drivers.
We can do this because we have the staff, equipment, programs,
and scheduling that is right for every driver. We have patient
and understanding instructors who know how to help every driver
become a safe driver. Our one-on-one, behind-the-wheel training
is done in clean, air-conditioned, and dual-controlled
Honda Civics are equipped with both driver and front passenger
airbags and ABS brakes for safety!
We even offer our students
the option of renting one of the cars for their road tests.
MVC Authorized Vision
and Written tests
administered at our office for enrolled 16 year old students.
Monday to Thursday 2pm to 5:30pm
Other times available
By appointment, call 800-973-7648
Other times available by appointment, call 800-973-7648
No need for students
to visit MVC for vision and written tests.
As you may be aware, the
driving laws have changed in New Jersey. New Jersey now has
Driver's License (GDL) law. There are now three (3) steps
to obtain a full license in New Jersey.
1: Obtain a 16-year-old permit,
pass a written test and an
eye exam, and complete six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
Step 2: Probationary (with restrictions) license, at
age 17after completing minimum of 6 months of supervised driving
with validated permit.
Step 3: Full basic (no restrictions) license, at age
18 after having provisional license for one year.
Princeton Driving School takes care of Step 1. We must buy the
permit for your teen, and your signature is now required to
obtain a permit. We are also required to give you a parent
handbook published by the Motor Vehicle Commission. This
handbook describes the new GDL law and how you should practice
with your teenager when he or she is finished with professional
Princeton Driving School will accompany your teenager to MVC
for vision and/or law knowledge test to validate the permit
for practice driving with us and will then schedule six hours
of behind-the-wheel instruction. OR These tests can be administered
at our office.
This instruction takes place in our dual-controlled vehicles
in three two-hour private sessions. You can expect your teen
to learn the following skills:
- Safety checks to perform before
starting the car
- Correct use of brakes
- Proper adjustment and use of inside
and outside mirrors
- Space management
- Safe lane-changing and highway-merging
- Identifying road signs and land
markings and what they mean
- Correct use of horn
- Right-of-way rules
- Proper starting procedure
- Collision free right and left turns
- Defensive driving techniques at
- Parallel parking made easy
- Night+ and inclement+ weather driving
- Hill parking
- Smith System seeing habits
- Assessing hazards in residential,
traffic, rural, and highway * driving situations